Follow:
adult books

10 Male Bookstagrammers to Follow on Instagram If You Love Books

I’ve been blogging for four years now and while I’ve connected with some really awesome women online, I can’t help but think where are all the men book lovers?

I know there are men out there who enjoy books as much as women do, but it’s apparent that the bookstagram community on Instagram is dominated by females.  (I’m guessing that’s case in the publishing industry as a whole.)  That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it just makes me wonder why aren’t there more male bookstagrammers, book bloggers and influencers?  I don’t know about you, but I’d love to hear the male perspective on books every once in a while.  I think there’s something sexy about a man who continuously reads for pleasure in his personal life beyond the academic years.  Equally as sexy is a man who reads books with his children during story time.  Bonus points if he does it without being asked to!

I went on a hunt to find a few male bookish accounts, but my search came up short with only a handful of the guys listed below.  If you know any men book bloggers/influencers or bookstagrammers please give them a shout out in the comments and I’ll add them to the list.  Help me build up a list of male book lovers (and eye candy)…please!

Jordan from @jordys.book.club

Reggie from @reggiereads

View this post on Instagram

#DiverseSpinesPhotoChallenge created by @spinesvines. Days 10-12: My Kind of Books Friday Reads TBR Books written by women of color tend to be my kind of books which I read on Fridays so obviously they're on my TBR for the rest of 2018. Still trying to figure out how I obtained all this good karma that placed all these treasures on my 2018 TBR list. Though not everything depicted is solidified the majority is. Also two books I will be reading in 2018 that do not release until the fall are "She Would Be King " & "Pride," so shoutouts to Wayetu Moore & Ibi Zoboi respectively. Also shouts to Jamise @spinesvines. This challenge was so much fun & it was a genius idea. Can't wait to see what you come up with next. Happy Reading Everyone & don't forget to share your thoughts on my 2018 TBR list. See anything you like? #BlackMenRead #Books #Bookstagram #BlackBookstagram #BlackBookCrew #Bookish #Booknerd #Bibliophile #Bookaholic #BuddyRead #Brigade #Reading #Learning #Enabler #Literary #Fiction #Nonfiction #Memoir #Classics #Masterpiece #DiverseSpines #PhotoChallenge

A post shared by The Villain (@reggiereads) on

Rod Kelly from @read_by_rodkelly

View this post on Instagram

************************************************** 🇯🇲A Brief History of Seven Killings: A Review🇯🇲 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ "There's a reason why the story of the ghetto should never come with a photo. Third World slum is a nightmare that defies beliefs or facts, even the ones staring right at you. A vision of hell that twists and turns on itself and grooves to its own soundtrack. Normal rules do not apply here." 🔫 And here we are, swept immediately into 70s Jamaica, the pomp and the intoxicating rhythm of life, the linguistic zing, its people both trapped within the fist of corruption or violently flung out into the netherworlds of no return. A Brief History of Seven Killings is an ode to an era of political unrest, societal collapse and the violent men who eked kingdoms out of desolation, ruling like old testament gods. This isn't a world I know. This isn't a place I've been, a time I've inhabited or can even imagine. A place where the line between life and death is paper thin like a whisper or a passing breeze and nothing to do but wait and see or see and wait. 🔫 These pages hum with frenetic music, rhythmic and cacophonous, rock and reggae, prismatic and steely-eyed; every sentence a knife jettisoned straight into the psyche of any who chooses to immerse themselves in this chronicle of violence, drugs, politics, sex & sexuality, class, gender, and all of their reverberations over several tumultuous decades. 🔫 “Listen. Dead people never stop talking. Maybe because death is not death at all, just a detention after school. You know where you’re coming from and you’re always returning from it. You know where you’re going, though you never seem to get there and you’re just dead. Dead.” 🔫 Marlon James is a virtuoso with staggering powers of erudition and detail, of dialogue and tone; everyone in his extensive cast of characters speaks with acerbic clarity, ready at any moment to grab you by the throat, sit you down and make you listen. In fact, this is a novel driven by voices, all competing for the microphone, seeking to lull the reader into the violent depths of this epic saga.

A post shared by RodKelly (@read_by_rodkelly) on

Casey from @casebounder

James Trevino from @james_trevino

Black Guys Reading from @blackguysreading

Black Men Read Too from @blackmenreadtoo

Joao Beardy from @beardbetweenthelines

View this post on Instagram

💬 What are you reading? ⁣ It’s an usual #saturdaymorning in Bookstagramland, and I’ve finally got some photos to use without having to run and take a picture for the day. I have to start doing the same with captions, but I love writing them in the morning with a nice coffee cup and the view of the street. ⁣ What are your plans for today? 📚 I’m reading ULYSSES by James Joyce (almost finishing) and ATOMIC HABITS by James Clear. I’m gonna enjoy the sun of Brazilian summer to take more pictures of books too, and I’ll soon jump in the pool because it’s hot af. ⁣ What is your weekend menu? ⁣ Good morning, #bookstagram! #Beardy ⁣ PS ✉️ no posts tomorrow, cause tomorrow is #sundaychill 😉

A post shared by joão • beard with books (@beardbetweenthelines) on

Faroukh Naseem from @theguywiththebook

 

Dad Suggests from @dadsuggests

View this post on Instagram

I often find myself reflecting on what I like to call the smartphone epidemic and how it affects cognitive function and social skills – and we wrote about it a little bit on the website this weekend. Go check it out and let us know what you think!⁣ ⁣ In particular I'm interested in the role we parents play in setting a good example. I really hate reading about how damaging it can be for kids to grow up constantly seeing their parents with a dull, lifeless expression on their face looking down at the phone.⁣ ⁣ Recent studies are pretty interesting regarding diminished cognitive function – but I think the missed bonding opportunities throughout the day are even worse. Time together is what it's all about in the end. ⁣ ⁣ So we decided to write a little plug for two of our favorite family activities – reading with the kids and playing board games together. Bonus: the academic and social benefits of both are vast. ⁣ ⁣ Let us know your favorite benefits of reading and playing with the kids that you've experienced!⁣ ⁣ #throwyourphoneoveryourshoulderwhenyourkidscomeintheroom #screentime ⁣ #parenting #dadlife #dadsuggests #parentingadvice #raisingkids #readeveryday #readtoyourkids #playwithyourkids

A post shared by Dad Suggests (@dadsuggests) on

 

Your turn: What men would you add to this list?  Did you learn about someone new to follow?  Feel free to share in the comments.

Share:
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

2 Comments

  • Reply Denise

    I recommend thebookorder, thebritbookboy and thebookboy. Thanks for this list! I love following all the bookstagram women, but it’s fun to see some men in the community, as well 🙂

    February 22, 2019 at 7:55 pm
    • Reply Mrs. G

      You’re welcome and thank you for these suggestions.

      February 25, 2019 at 2:19 pm

    Leave a Reply

    CommentLuv badge