Follow:
adult books, currently reading

What I’m Reading (in April 2016)

I can’t believe the last time I shared the books I’m reading was in January!  The months of February and March flew by…wow!  I assure you I was reading books, I just didn’t post them…my bad!  Sometimes I get so caught up in all of the amazing children’s books that I tend to forget to update you on the books for us adults.  By the way, if you’re a woman I highly recommend reading the book, Woman Code by Alisa Vitti.  I read that book in February and found it to be very informative and useful.  Essential reading for women of all ages.

Below are the books I’m planning to read in the month of April.  Feel free to join me if you’d like!

Recently, NPR featured a fantastic article on their website about how adults can encourage kids to be original thinkers.  Did you see it on my Facebook page?  You can read the full article here.  I love NPR!  Anyway, I found the article to be fascinating and I immediately added the book Originals to my list of books to read.

Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World by Adam Grant
originalshownonconformistsmovetheworld

Synopsis
Using surprising studies and stories spanning business, politics, sports, and entertainment, Grant explores how to recognize a good idea, speak up without getting silenced, build a coalition of allies, choose the right time to act, and manage fear and doubt; how parents and teachers can nurture originality in children; and how leaders can build cultures that welcome dissent. Learn from an entrepreneur who pitches his start-ups by highlighting the reasons not to invest, a woman at Apple who challenged Steve Jobs from three levels below, an analyst who overturned the rule of secrecy at the CIA, a billionaire financial wizard who fires employees for failing to criticize him, and a TV executive who didn’t even work in comedy but saved Seinfeld from the cutting-room floor. The payoff is a set of groundbreaking insights about rejecting conformity and improving the status quo.

The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks
thelifeboatclique

I tend to read a lot of personal development books, but I like reading fiction books too.  Reading fiction books allow me to escape the daily grind of my own life, especially if it’s a really interesting or funny book.  I’ve heard this book is funny and since I love to laugh, I’m going to check it out even though it’s a YA (Young Adult) novel.

Synopsis
Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that’s perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks’s irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.

Your turn:  What are your reading plans for the month of April?  I’d love to hear what you’re reading!  Also, do you enjoy hearing about the books I’m reading or do you prefer to read about children’s books?  Feel free to share in the comments.

Share:
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

12 Comments

  • Reply Christine

    Originals sounds like something I need to read!

    March 31, 2016 at 10:43 am
    • Reply Mrs. G

      I’ve heard great things about it, Christine!

      March 31, 2016 at 11:01 am
  • Reply DiSheen

    I always learn something new when I visit your site. I’m intrigued about the book about teaching kids how to be free thinkers. I plan to homeschool my son and that sounds like a good tool. I would read even if I wasnt homeschooling because our kids have to think for themselves. Personally, I’m reading a lot of self help books. Right now I’m focusing on business and financial literacy.

    March 31, 2016 at 1:39 pm
    • Reply Mrs. G

      Awww, thanks so much, DiSheen! I’m glad you find the information I write about here to be useful – I really appreciate the feedback. Kudos to you for homeschooling your kids. I’ve always imagined what that would be like, but then my senses kick in…LOL! Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the book if you decide to read it.

      March 31, 2016 at 4:45 pm
  • Reply Meredith

    I definitely like hearing what books you read! You piqued my interest with the Mean Girls description – loved that movie!

    March 31, 2016 at 4:19 pm
    • Reply Mrs. G

      Yay! Good to know at least one person likes hearing about what I’m reading. I can never tell if people want more children’s book recommendations/suggestions or adult ones. I’ll be sure to update everyone on what I’m reading more often. Yes, I’m intrigued by the description too. I’ve heard it’s really funny so we’ll see. Thanks for your feedback!

      March 31, 2016 at 4:48 pm
  • Reply Shannon

    I am reading Drew Barrymore’s Wilfflower which I am just loving! I also plan on picking up Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes which I have been dying to read!

    March 31, 2016 at 4:23 pm
    • Reply Mrs. G

      I think Year of Yes is amazing! I literally couldn’t put it down when I was reading it back in January. I’ve heard many people rave about the book, but there are a few that either can’t relate or just don’t like it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      March 31, 2016 at 4:50 pm
  • Reply Audrey

    I’m definitely going to have to check out Originals. It looks like a fascinating read!

    March 31, 2016 at 4:58 pm
    • Reply Mrs. G

      Great, Audrey! It does indeed sound like it will be a great read. Looking forward to digging in over the weekend.

      April 1, 2016 at 1:19 pm
  • Reply Cristi

    All great choices! Definitely going to check out The Life Boat Clique… I’d love a good fiction read with all the self help that I’ve been absorbing! Thanks for sharing!

    April 1, 2016 at 12:24 am
    • Reply Mrs. G

      Yes, I tend to read lots of self-help and personal development books too so a good fiction read is always refreshing. I hope you enjoy it, Cristi!

      April 1, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    Leave a Reply

    CommentLuv badge